Honors Night at the School Board

RRPJ-Sch Bd Recognition-18Apr11


Monday night the Red River Parish School Board honored students, teachers, support personnel, bus drivers and others who have done an outstanding job this year.

The students of the year at Red River Elementary, Red River Junior High and Red River High School were presented awards for doing an outstanding job. They are fifth grader Rafe Suggs, eighth grader Jeyden Young, representing the junior high, and senior Adriana Bradley from Red River High.

Superintendent Alison Hughes congratulated each and presented them a plaque. Hughes said Suggs maintains a 4-point-0 and has been on the honor roll since 1st grade. He is active in athletics, Beta Club and other school activities.

Hughes congratulated Jeyden Young for maintaining a 4-point-0 since his kindergarten year. Young is active in many extracurricular activities at Red River Junior High.

And twelfth grader student Adriana Bradley was presented a plaque by Hughes as high school student of the year. Hughes noted that Bradley always maintained a high academic standard and she was the student of the year in the fifth grade and also the eighth grade.

Hughes then introduced the teachers of the year. From Red River Elementary Ranette Crockett was selected. Superintendent Hughes congratulated Crockett for improving herself from a teachers aide to “one of the best teachers that we have.”

Coach Casey Bolyer was selected teacher of the year from Red River Junior High. Hughes said Bolyer coaches junior high football and other sports. He has coached at the elementary school and coaches several sports as well.

The High School Teacher of the year is Wanda Lemoine. She heads the Pro Start program offering students a two-year course in culinary arts. Hughes congratulated Lemoine for developing the course into a nationally recognized program.

Also at the school board meeting Monday night the Support Employees of the Year were recognized. Randy Johnson was recognized for his work at the elementary school. Carolyn Williams was named Support Employee from the junior high. And Cynthia Smith was named Support Employee from the High School. And Ricky Emerson was named Bus Driver of the Year.

The board took a brief recess in the meeting to honor these individuals with a catered reception.

Leave a Reply