ETC… for January 19th

rrpjetc

 

The cold snap is ending, but it still feels chilly out. Maybe not time to put away the heavy coat just yet. Temperatures broke the freezing mark on Thursday afternoon and much warmer is forecast for the weekend.

Saturday night is dance night at the Council on Aging on Front Street. The council’s monthly dances are moved to the third Saturday of each month for 2018. The Playmates will play tomorrow night and admission is just $6.00 for a great time.

New Northwestern State football coach Brad Laird and his team will open the 2018 season at Texas A&M before hosting Southwestern Athletic Conference champion Grambling to kick off a five-game home schedule.

“It’s a great schedule for us,” said Laird. “The opportunity to go to Kyle Field and play Texas A&M is very exciting, getting to play in one of college football’s great venues. Coming back here to play that second week in Turpin Stadium against Grambling, what a great week that will be, filled with excitement about playing an in-state rival.

The Demons’ 2018 schedule:

Saturday, Sept. 2 at Texas A&M TBA
Saturday, Sept. 8 Grambling 6 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 15 *at Lamar TBA
Saturday, Sept. 29 *at Southeastern Louisiana TBA
Saturday, Oct. 6 *Nicholls 6 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 13 *Sam Houston State 6 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 20 *at Central Arkansas TBA
Saturday, Oct. 27 *Houston Baptist (Homecoming) 6 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 3 *at Abilene Christian TBA
Saturday, Nov. 10 *McNeese 6 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 15 *at Stephen F. Austin 6 p.m.

*indicates Southland Conference games

 

Leave a Reply