Mayor Honored by NSU

Coushatta Mayor Johnny Cox has been invited by Northwestern State University to join the Long Purple Line.  The induction ceremony will be October 21st during a luncheon at the Natchitoches Events Center.

Cox has served as mayor of Coushatta since 2012 after serving on the town council. He earned a bachelor’s in industrial technology at NSU where he was Student Government Association president for two years and was the student representative of the Board of Trustees for State Colleges and Universities and SGA representative to the Natchitoches Chamber of Commerce. He was in the ROTC program where he received the ROTC Academic Achievement Award, the Exceptional Performance Award, a Certificate of Appreciation and a Certificate of Proficiency. He attended ROTC Advanced Camp, receiving an Advance Camp Completion Award and completed the U.S. Army Infantry Airborne Course.

His academic honors included membership in Blue Key National Honor Fraternity, the National Honorary Dean’s List, Presidential Academic Award, Who’s Who Among American Colleges and Universities and the Natchitoches Outstanding Community Work Award.

He later earned a master’s degree in biblical studies and a Doctor of Ministry from the Institute for Teaching God’s Word and a Doctor of Theology, a Doctor of Divinity and a doctorate of philosophy from the Minnesota Graduate of Theology. Cox has been a pastor for more than 30 years.

Cox served in the U.S. Army and Louisiana Army National Guard. He was chief executive officer of Winnfield Funeral Home and Winnfield Holding Company. Cox was a sheriff’s deputy with the Red River Parish Sheriff’s Office and vice president-chairman of the executive board of the Louisiana Youth Outreach Commission. The Louisiana Legislature passed a resolution in 2013 commending Cox for his work on behalf of the people of Red River Parish.

Joining Mayor Johnny Cox as a 2022 inductee into the Long Purple Line are Tommy Chester and Lola Dunahoe of Natchitoches, Tynes Hildebrand of Shreveport, Gail Metoyer Jones of Natchez, and Carlos Treadway of London, England. The inductees will be honored at a luncheon on October 21 at 12 noon at the Natchitoches Events Center.

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE