Clara Springs Camp Hosted Baptist Convention

By Nicole Tull

The District 8 Baptist Convention held their annual meeting at Clara Springs Baptist Encampment in Pelican on Thursday, January 21, 2022. District 8 includes southern Baptist churches in DeSoto, Red River, Sabine and Natchitoches parishes. The camp served up a delicious dinner to all of those in attendance. The campground is a ministry of District 8 and are gracious to host meetings of all kinds during the year.

The meeting began with worship and an encouraging message from the outgoing president, Richard Tull, pastor of Mt. Olivet in Logansport. He proposed “Reset Our Sights” for the believer brought out of Ephesians 1.

The various ministries gave their updates and reports. Mary Gore at Toledo Bend Baptist Resort is so proud to have a new building being built. Rev. Bill Collins is excited for the less inhibited collegiate activities at NSU. Bubba Mills informed of the moved cabins and new building for meetings at the campground.

A new slate of officers was elected. Cyle Clayton, pastor of Calvary Baptist of Many is the new president. Shawn Thrapp, pastor of First Baptist Logansport is First Vice-President. Jay Begbie, pastor of Grand Ecore in Natchitoches is Second Vice-President. Charles Verret was reelected Recording Secretary and Jack Bell was reelected as Treasurer.