Young Elected Police Juror

Shane Young won the District 3 Police Juror race on Saturday.  Young received 125 votes or 54% of the vote.

His opponent, John Lindsey got 105 votes or 46%.  Police Juror from District 3 was the only local race on the ballot. 

The vacancy on the jury came about with the resignation of Jury President Shawn Beard.  He had moved out of District 3, creating the vacancy.  Young had been selected by the jury several months ago to represent the district until the spring election was held.

Parish wide, voters choose from 5 candidates for BESE board District 4.  Shelly McFarland garnered the most votes in Red River, however district wide she finished third.  There will be a runoff between Michael Melerine and “Cassie” Williams.