Former Natchitoches Fire Chief in Hall of Fame

Last Thursday night (January 28th) the “Fire Chief Hall of Fame, Hanging of the pictures “ Ceremony was held.  Former Natchitoches Fire Chief Dennie Boyt was one of eight inducted.

Boyt said, “It was a great event. I want to say thanks to our Caterer Ms. Aubrey. Great food. The Lafayette Mayor/President Josh Guillory and District Councilman Pat Lewis. Thank you for your attendance. Also we had Mr. Thomas the City Marshall with us.

Boyt retired as chief of the Natchitoches Fire Department on May 1, 2013.  He had served the department for 30 years as a line fireman and then 10 years as Chief.  Boyd said, “Of the eight inducted, I was the only one who had worked in the military, in a paid fire department, and in a volunteer fire department.

After he retired from Natchitoches Fire Department, Boyt served as the Fire Chief of Bienville District 7, a volunteer unit.  Boyd now resides in Natchitoches.

In addition to Chief Boyt, those inducted into the Hall of Fame were Chief Smith, Chief Pittman, Chief Champagne, Chief Thompson, Chief Guilbeau, Chief Sonnier ,and Chief Butch Browning.  They are now all in the class of 2020 in the Fire Chief Hall Of Fame.