Young Writers at Red River Elementary

From Shenille Deville, Principal 

Red River Elementary School (RRES) is proud of the 13 students from Mrs. Ranette Smith-Crockett’s homeroom class who have been chosen to have their writings published. Mrs. Smith-Crockett submitted entries for all students in her class, and 13 were chosen to be published in Young Writers’ Spooky Sagas – Authors From America. Young Writers encourages reading, writing, and the enjoyment of poetry as well as creative writing. 

Over 12,000 entries were submitted from many states based on perception, imagination and creativity, expression, originality, and use of language. Students were challenged to write a mini saga, a story in just 100 words. They were to create spine-tingling tales that uses atmosphere and suspense, from things that go bump in the night to Halloween pranks, creating tales that will make you scream. 

Prizes will be awarded to the school with the best set of entries, and that school will receive “The Young Writers’ Award of Excellence,” and the best published writer will receive an iPad and a trophy. Also, one runner-up will receive a $50 Amazon gift card. Winners will be announced in April 2019. RRES will receive a complimentary copy of the book. In addition, the book will be sent to the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. to provide a lasting record of our students’ achievement. Our school name will be published as Red River Elementary. 

We are excited of the high writing standards our students have demonstrated. As the principal, I will make sure each student who has his/her work published, receives a copy of the book, and I will reward the entire class with a celebration honoring their effort and achievement. 

For more information on Young Writers, you can visit their website at 

Pictured from left to right, first row: 

ZyQuayvious Smith, Fa’Dasia Demery, Demarche Newton, Johnny Meshell, Cedric Moody, Jr., Collin Stafford, Tamija Gant, and teacher, Mrs. Ranette Smith-Crockett 

Pictured from left to right, second row: 

Rihanna Washington, Bri’Aunna Taylor, Makilah Murphy, Brodrick Winn, Skylar Roberson, and Jaskyla Williams (absent)

Leave a Reply