A Night of Beautiful Music

RRPJ-Band TOP-17May17
The Red River Bands performed their spring concert on Wednesday May 5th to the delight of proud parents, students and faculty. The concert featured the beginning band and the advanced band.

Band Director Yasmine Jason led the Beginning Band, mostly 6th and 7th graders, to a rousing rendition of When the Saints Go Marching In. That was followed by Old McDonald Had a Band. The evening concluded with Ode to Joy. All beginning students were presented certificates.

Jason said, “I love their excitement and tenacity. They want to learn more music.”

After intermission the Advanced Band, made up mostly of high school students, showed their versatility with Clouds followed by Stone Mountain Stomp. The program also included Two-Minute Symphony and concluded with Jazzoo.

Jason introduced the new leaders of the band for the 2017-18 school year. They are:
Michael McNatt- Librarian, Jasmine Ward- Librarian, Nicholas Hassell- Lieutenant, Angel Baird –Lieutenant, Justin Johnson- Lieutenant, Ethan Morgan- Lieutenant, Clement Jones- Lieutenant, Antwaine Lewis- Low Brass Captain, Zachary Riolo – Low Brass Captain, Bobby White – Band Captain, Steven Williams– Drum Captain, Tyniesha Callahan- Co Drum Captain, Aaliyah Luke- Dance Line Captain, Sha’Crystal Haskett- Dance Line Captain, Jimmy Putek– Drum Major, and Shantwaine Lewis- Drum Major.

During the past year the band has participated in all-district and all-state band competitions. And they have marched and played in several parades including the Morgan City Mardi Gras Parade. Jason says, “they got excellent ratings in every marching band contest.”

At the conclusion of the concert, Jason presented awards to band members as follows:
Special Awards…
Excellence in Leadership -Sha’ Crystal Haskett, Excellence in Leadership – Aaliyah Luke, Most Improved – La’Miracle Allen, Most Dedicated – Crystal Jackson, Most Productive – Brittney Perkins, and Excellence in Leadership – Kenya Horton.

Other awards presented included:

Directors Choice Award- Bobby White, Most Outstanding Musician – Jimmy Putek, Excellence in Music –Shantwaine Lewis, Excellence in Performance– Clement Jones, Most Improved High School- Tyniesha Callahan, Excellence in Performance – Antwaine Lewis, Excellence in Music / Jr High- Justin Johnson, Most Improved Brass / Jr High- Layton Kerby, Excellence in Music/ Jr. High- Ethan Morgan, Most

RRPJ-Band BOTTOM-17May17

Leave a Reply