Public Servants Honored

First responders and other public servants in the community were honored by VFW Post and Auxiliary 7287 this week at a banquet held in their honor.  Annually the local VFW honors public servants nominated by their departments.

Here is the list of those honored:

Red River Sheriff’s Office – Law Enforcement Officer of the Year – Sgt Lee Petersen

E-911 – Dispatcher of the Year – Barbara Perrin

RR Fire Protection district – Firefighter of the Year – Joey Emerson

RR EMS – Emergency Medical Technician of the Year – Etoyce Davis

From all schools in the parish – School Teacher of the Year – Angela D. Murray from Red River Junior High.  Murray was also selected as the VFW District 12 (Northwest Louisiana) Teacher of the Year.

Nominations are solicited each fall by the Coushatta VFW Post and Auxiliary.  Those selected by the post are submitted to district and then to the state VFW.  Local honorees are treated to a banquet each spring.

For more information on local veterans programs, or for assistance with service to veterans, please call VFW Post 7287 at 318-932-6557.