Runoff For Two Local Offices

Unofficial results from Saturdays election indicate a runoff in the race for Assessor and Police Jury District 2. That election will be held Saturday, November 16th.

Dovie Neal Beard lead the field of three candidates, however Beard did not gather enough votes to be elected.  Beard got 43% or 1355 votes.  She will be in a runoff with Tenisha Canterbury who received 29% or 915 votes. The other candidate, Vaughn Womack received 27% or 852 votes.

There will be a runoff in the Police Jury District 2 race between incumbent Brandon Hillman and challenger Will Worsham.  Hillman garnered 49% or 263 votes.  Worsham got 28% or 149 votes.  Third candidate in the race Sammie Procell got 24% or 127 votes.

In the other local races the incumbents won another term. In the sheriff’s race, Sheriff Glen Edwards won easily against challenger Tom Mangham.  Edwards got 87% or 2695 votes to Mangham’s 387.

Stuart Shaw easily won re-election as Clerk of Court.  Shaw got 78% or 2428 votes.  Challenger Delvin Lewis polled 670 votes.

In other Police Jury races, Shawn Beard won re-election to District 3.  Beard received 60% or 275 votes in defeating Shane Young.  Young got 40% or 186 votes.  Beard posted this statement of thanks to voters:

“I would like to say THANK YOU!!! First, I thank God, to Him be all the glory! Next, my beautiful wife Dovie Giddings Beard for her unbelievable support. She truly is a Proverbs 31 women! Also to my family, for their continued support and prayers. Finally, to the voters of District 3 for your prayers, support, and help. I could not have done it without YOU!!! I will continue to work hard for District 3 and Red River Parish. AGAIN, THANK YOU!!!”

In District 4, inclement Jessie Davis defeated Eric Johnson 301 to 140. And in District 5 June Bug Moore won re-election with 71% of the vote.  Moore defeated Joey Procell 320 to 131.

Here is how Red River voted in the other races on the ballot:

For State Senator, District 31 Louie Bernard won the parish with 59% or 1499 votes.  Douglas Brown got 23% or 590 votes.  Trey Flynn got 18% or 473 votes.  Bernard won the senate seat outright on Saturday night.

For State House, District 22 Gabe Firment got 51% or 963 votes to Carl Ray Lasyone with 49% or 914 votes.  Firment also won throughout his district.

In the Governor’s race, Red River voters went for John Bel Edwards with 44% or 1395 votes, Ralph Abraham got 26% or 819 votes, and Eddie Rispone got 26% or 814 votes.

Leave a Reply